Posts tagged ‘asia cloud computing’

The Cloud Asia Awards are now OPEN for submissions! #CloudAsia

Cloud Asia Awards
24th November 2015
The Mira Hong Kong



The Cloud Asia Awards are now OPEN for submissions! 

The Cloud Asia Awards are back for the 2nd year, taking place at The Mira Hong Kong on the 24th November 2015 as part of the Cloud Asia Forum. In a constantly evolving industry, with so many cutting-edge Cloud providers and new entrants to the market, competition at this year’s awards is set to be the most fierce yet!

Our independent panel of judges are committed to recognising excellence, and assessing the best regardless of size, stature and reputation, so put your company forward!

Submit your entry here!

The 2nd Annual Cloud Asia Awards is a celebration of the drive, innovation and hard work in the APAC cloud computing industry, with three categories recognising services from across the ecosystem. The Awards will bring together the industry leaders and experts who have driven developments in Cloud over the past year.

The drinks reception will open with a lively lions dance performance, before leading into the ceremony, which will take place at the Cloud Asia Forum in The Mira Hong Kong on the 24th of November 2015.

The Awards will be judged by world class experts in Cloud Computing, who will independently select the shortlist and also select the winners. This year’s panel:

  • May-Ann Lim, Executive Director of the Asia Cloud Computing Association
  • Michael Mudd, Secretary General of Asia, Pacific and Middle East, the Open Computing Alliance.
  • Aman Neil Dokania, Vice-Chair, Asia Cloud Computing Association

We’re excited to announce this year’s categories:

  1. Best Cloud Computing Solution
  2. Best Cloud Security Solution
  3. Best Enterprise Mobility Solution

Submit your entry here

More information here

Good luck and we hope to be celebrating with you in Hong Kong this coming November!

Cloud Asia Awards – Meet the Judges! #cloudasia


Awards judges


Following the successful Cloud World Series Awards which took place in London this year, the Cloud Asia Awards are a celebration of the drive, innovation and hard work in the global cloud computing industry.

This year’s awards will take place the evening of day one and will feature 4 categories, recognising services from across the Cloud ecosystem. Similarly to the Cloud World Series Awards the Cloud Asia Awards will be judged by world-class experts, you can meet the Judges here.


Asia-Pacific Cloud Computing: who is ready, who is dedi and who is steady?

The Asia Cloud Computing Association (ACCA) published its third Cloud Readiness Index in 2014, assessing 14 countries in the region against ten criteria, including broadband quality and data sovereignty, which indicate the infrastructural and regulatory preparedness for cloud computing adoption. This assessment indicated three distinct groups forming in terms of development: Ready Leaders, Dedicated Improvers and Steady Developing.

The big improvers in the Index, each moving four places up the rankings, were New Zealand, Australia and Thailand. A commonality between these countries is having a governmental ICT and Cloud policy. Primary among these is New Zealand’s “cloud first” policy, which is explained as “where State services agencies would be expected to adopt approved cloud services either when faced with new procurements, or an upcoming contract extension decision”. Lim May-Ann, Executive Director of the ACCA, stated that “a proactive government-led cloud first policy will have profound and productive implications right across the economy – as we are now seeing from the policies adopted by the successful economies”.

Ready, Dedi and Steady

In making the country assessments, the ACCA saw three development-stage groups emerging. Firstly, the Ready Leaders, comprising Japan, New Zealand, Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong and South Korea. These economies look at fresh approaches, and foster innovation and creativity when looking at the next generation of cloud computing services. Looking at individual strengths, the broadband quality in South Korea and Hong Kong is consistently excellent; Japan and Singapore score highly when it comes to protecting intellectual property, and Australia and New Zealand have developed whole-of-government cloud computing policies.

The next band of economies are the Dedicated Improvers, consisting of Taiwan, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines; economies that, while showing good levels of growth and development, are less developed in some areas. Nevertheless, there are indicators of excellence in each of these states: the Philippines in terms of freedom of information access; Taiwan in international connectivity and business sophistication; Thailand in green policy and power grids, and Malaysia with a low data centre risk index.

Finally, there is the Steady Developing group, which includes China, Indonesia, India and Vietnam. While these countries may be the lowest-ranked, the ACCA stresses that they are still showing good development, particularly in terms of physical infrastructure and government policy. The ‘Broadband China’ policy is forecast to provide nationwide coverage by 2020; free city-wide wifi services have been rolled out in various Vietnamese cities thanks to public-private partnerships; Indonesia’s tax e-billing system has been a success and India’s nascent GI Cloud initiative (aka ‘Meghraj’) is showing promise.

Given the speed and nature of the development across the entire region, it will be of great interest to see how the rankings look in 2015. As Bernie Trudel, Chairman of the ACCA says, “in a region where you have to run just to keep pace, these countries will need to keep their eyes on the goalposts to stay the course”.

Asia Cloud Computing Readiness Index 2014

See the Asia Cloud Computing Association website for more information.

The ACCA is a supporting association of Cloud Asia in Hong Kong, November 24-26 2014.


Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: